Warning updating the currently checked out branch
Until both progress independently, one branch still points to an earlier commit on the other. This starts a new branch at the named commit and switches to it.If you have conflicting uncommitted changes, though, you will have to deal with them first.Even though it would not actually delete any commits right away, some or all of the commits on the branch would become unreachable if they are not part of some other branch as well.You could undo this mistake easily if you noticed it right away, as Git names the commit ID of the branch ref it removes, and it might be in a reflog as well; you could use to restore the branch.If you are coming from CVS, you can find common CVS workflows for Git Platform-releng/Git Workflows.Whenever the history of the repository is changed (technically, whenever a commit is created), Git keeps track of the user who created that commit.Product development continues, but you may need to apply bug fixes or new features to that version even after you’ve released 2.0, for customers who are still using the older version; the 1.0 branch allows you to do that (and Git could be more helpful here, since getting a “fatal” error with a newly created repository strongly suggests that something is broken. Git has initialized the rather than to the previous branch (which is still there).
Keep in mind that if you set the HOME environment variable while Eclipse is running, you will still see following warning.If you're new to Git or distributed version control systems generally, then you might want to read Git for Eclipse Users first.More background and details can be found in the on-line book Pro Git.It would get harder if you didn’t notice until later, though, and perhaps impossible if that were after garbage collection had actually deleted the commits in question, and no one else had a copy of them.For the branch , since all its commits will remain part of the repository history via the other branch.